It was built in 1910 as the Kastamonu Branch of the Committee of Union and Progress. The plan of the building, which is completely made of cut stone, was drawn by Architect Kemallettin Bey, who was also the architect of the 2nd Turkish Grand National Assembly Building in Ankara. It is a monumental building showing the stonemasonry and unique architectural style of the last period of the Ottoman Empire. The portico entrances and the pointed arched accents on the exterior are remarkable.
During the Turkish War of Independence, the building was used as the Independence Tribunal. After the proclamation of the Republic of Turkey, this building served as People's Houses and the Republican People's Party Building for a while. During M. Kemal Atatürk's visit to Kastamonu, he gave the Kastamonu Speech about the Dress Code Revolution in the current Museum Building, which used to be a Turkish Hearth Building at that time, on 30 August 1925. The museum building witnessed the last period of the Ottoman Empire, the years of the Turkish War of Independence and the declaration of the Turkish republic. The building, which was used by various institutions in the following years, was used as a cinema building.
The artifacts brought from Kastamonu, Zonguldak, Sinop, Samsun, Bolu and Çankırı provinces since the 1940's were collected and exhibited in this building. Kastamonu Museum, which has been transformed into a directorate since 1952, has been transformed into a "Regional Museum" including the above provinces.
Some of the groups of artifacts exhibited in our museum are the Paleolithic hand axes, stamp seals belonging to various periods, p.t. vessels, metal Hittite containers forming a large group, glass works belonging to the Roman and Hellenistic Period, anthropomorphic vessel from the Roman Period and treasure coming from the Ottoman Period.